RSS

8 Things I Wish My Pastor Knew

17 Jul

Pastor, here are 8 things I wish you knew:

I wish you knew how much you are appreciated. Many times it becomes so routine for you to do all that you do around the church that it becomes the norm and people forget to thank you. But every counseling appointment, every sermon, every time you clean up the church, every hospital visit, every funeral, every wedding, every thing you do–it doesn’t go unnoticed. Though you ought to be thanked more than you are, I wish that every time you aren’t you still know that you’re appreciated.

I wish you knew just how much we pray for you. I wish you knew that the saints in your church are asking God to bless you not only spiritually but also physically, mentally, and financially–a hundredfold what you’ve blessed others. You know more than all of us how the enemy will try and attack you and your family and tell you that you’re alone and that nobody prays for you. I wish that you know that’s not true. We do pray for you. Daily.

I wish you knew how far your efforts really go. Sometimes you wonder if they’re really going anywhere. You doubt if all that you do is really changing anything or helping anyone. But know this: every person you lead to God and every life you touch in turn reaches others. I wish you knew just how much your efforts produced. If you touched as few as ten lives (and rest assured you’ve done much more than that–more than you know!) and each of those ten lives reached ten more, you have participated in reaching 100 lives. And so on and so forth. Your efforts are not in vain. Because of your willingness to be used of God, there are people saved today that you don’t even know. And, of course, there are a lot of people saved who you do know. It’s all worth it. Someday you’ll see.

I wish you knew how much you’ve impacted my life. You know where I’ve come from and you know what I’ve gone through yet you don’t know just how much of it God pulled me through because I had a praying pastor. A pastor who stood by me, who was at times my closest ally, who believed God could make my life into something I could not see. Because of your faith and faithfulness, God has brought me to places I never dreamed my life could go.

I wish you knew how much you’re valued. Not only by the church but also by God. If only you could see yourself through His eyes then you would know your true value. And if you could only see yourself through the eyes of your saints (I know what you’re thinking–you’d NEVER want to do that haha!) but truthfully, you’d find much more value than you think. Remember the story of Aaron and Hur lifting the hands of Moses? That is what we want to be to you and your family. When you are down we want to lift you up. When your family struggles we want to be a support. Rest assured, we’ve got your back.

I wish you knew that it’s not your fault. It’s not your fault when someone chooses to not live for God. It’s not your fault when people make bad decisions. It’s not your fault when bad things happen to good people, even if it was a circumstance in which you tried your best to help. You preached the Word. You prayed, you counseled, you did everything you could to help. The decision they make (or the outcome) is not a reflection of your success as a pastor or your leadership qualities.

I wish you knew how respected you are. You might wonder what people in the community think and say about you, or what people within the church think and say, or even people at other churches. I know this: when I hear your name mentioned or I bring it up and someone realizes I know you, I hear nothing but good reports. I hear people talk about what a wonderful person you are–people I didn’t even realize knew you. Proverbs 22:1 says that a good name is better to have than riches. You have the good name–shall we pray for the riches too? 🙂

I wish you knew how much you’re loved. By God and by your church family. Words cannot do justice here, otherwise this paragraph would be the longest.

Thank you for all that you do. May God bless you and your family richly.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “8 Things I Wish My Pastor Knew

  1. mikatorreja

    September 21, 2014 at 9:26 pm

    Such a sweet and touching message to a pastor…can I print this and gave it to my Pastor??..thanks…God bless.. micah of UPC LUCENA

     
    • NessaLeigh

      September 21, 2014 at 9:44 pm

      Thank you! I wrote this after I had the chance to speak with my childhood pastor and realized after speaking with several pastors that these were common doubts–please do share with yours and feel free to add or personalize it for yours! God bless!

       

Leave a Reply

 
The Land Called Beulah

Where God Turns Ashes into Beauty

https://www.goyekids.com

The Gospel. To Kids Everywhere.

Apostolic Voice

A blog that deals with biblical topics and Christian Living

GoYeKids

The Gospel. To Kids Everywhere.

The Girl Consumed by Jesus & Wanderlust

the sweet and simple life of Sam

The Celebration

Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Pastor Don Haymon's Web Log

Messages, Musings, and Misc Communications

JREnsey Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

KennethBow's Blog

Ain't Life a Journey!

Apostolic Acclaim Blog

Earnestly Contending For the Faith Once Delivered

