RSS

Can God Heal Me?

01 Jan

“It is physically impossible for her to be alive. I can’t explain it. If she hadn’t come in today there is no possible way she would have lived til tomorrow.”

I laid in my hospital bed pretending to be asleep so I could avoid having to talk to anybody. After an entire day of dealing with doctors and nurses, two bags of blood in a transfusion, and countless questions over what could be wrong with me, I was done. I heard the doctor speak these words to my mother and inside I cried out to God: “You can’t let me die. I’m backslidden right now! God please don’t let me die until I’m saved. Until I am old enough to go back to church on my own!”

beachI was 13 years old and had went in for a basic doctor’s appointment when a nurse looked down at my stats while checking my blood pressure and oxygen levels and declared that there must be a mistake. She took it several times and then told me to wait while she got a doctor. She came back with a lady who looked at the numbers and next thing I knew, I was being told I had to be taken to the emergency room immediately. I didn’t know why.

When I got to the hospital I was asked multiple questions–that were very personal for a 13 year old girl–to find out that it was not common for a woman to menstruate continuously for months on end. I thought that was normal so never said anything. Here I had bled for three and a half months straight (and continuous months prior to that with a short break between), I was pale, shaky and weak, but nobody ever believed me that I didn’t feel good. I just thought I was tired. They just thought I was being a lazy teenager. Truth was, even doing daily tasks was difficult, but I didn’t know anything was wrong so I never said anything.

I was given a blood transfusion but they couldn’t get the bleeding to stop nor could they figure out why I couldn’t stop bleeding. Conversations came up about having to get a hysterectomy at my young age. Discussions about whether or not I would ever have children came up. Potential diagnoses of endometriosis, PCOS, cancer–they were all brought up and I was subject to test after test. They finally settled on  trying to put me on birth control (which was embarrassing for a 13 year old girl practicing abstinence) with the hopes that it would stop the bleeding. If it did, great, I would just keep taking it and hope that when I eventually wanted to have kids that my body would function ok. Worse case scenario was that if it wouldn’t stop the bleeding, having kids would never be a possibility because I would have to come back for the hysterectomy.

God answered my prayer. I didn’t die in the hospital, although the doctor said I had so little blood that it was medically impossible to be alive. The pills helped and my “issue of blood” was under control.

Until three years passed, that is. Eventually my issue came back and I started bleeding profusely again. It became uncontrollable and I could sense that weakness and paleness coming back. I was determined I would not go back to the hospital, though. I had always wanted children and I didn’t want to be forced into a hysterectomy. I had just started praying seriously and coming back to God, and was preparing to start going back to church as soon as I had a way to get there.

So I acted on my faith. I grabbed my pills and said, “God, I’m putting this in Your hands. If the bleeding isn’t going to stop and I’m going to die, so be it. But if You want me healed, You’re going to have to do it without these pills.” I threw all of the pills in the trash.

The next day the bleeding stopped. My body healed up and I did not have my undiagnosable issue anymore. 11 years have since passed and I have never had another problem with it again. In fact, I ended up becoming a blood donor myself, thankful that God blessed me through the gift of blood before, and now I wanted to give back. I also loved telling my testimony every time I went to the blood bank.

~     ~     ~     ~     ~

These past couple of weeks my husband and I have spent time in the hospital with his dad who was recently diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. His health is failing at a quick pace and as we’ve watched him go from being self-sufficient just a couple months ago to being in hospice now, unable to stand alone and barely able to eat, we’ve prayed for God to heal him.

God hasn’t healed him yet. We don’t know if He will. We know that everyone is appointed once to die. But his delayed healing hasn’t caused my faith to waiver. You see, I’ve seen God heal people many times. I know He can.

My own mother was diagnosed with cancer a few years ago. She was also backslidden at the time and when I got a phone call to go down to the hospital and pray for her, I considered her soul. As I waited in the hallway for the doctor to finish what he was doing, I prayed for God to have mercy on her and heal her. The doctor said it didn’t look good and that he wasn’t sure if she would make it through the night. He was about to put her into the ICU. She was not responding when I was got there and when I walked into the room the smell was so strong I felt like I was going to faint (and I’m not the squeamish type). I asked the doctor if it was ok if I prayed for her and he left the room. As I started praying she opened her eyes and looked at me, the only response I was able to get from her. She didn’t speak a word.

I went home after spending some time in prayer and the next day I found out that she was not put in ICU. Her stats got better and the next morning she was communicating. They scheduled a surgery to go in and try to get out some of the cancer. We waited at the hospital for news on how it went, and when the doctor came in to speak with us he informed us that they didn’t see cancer in there at all.

We knew God had healed her because she had a clear diagnoses before going in. The doctor couldn’t explain it but we knew.

~     ~     ~     ~     ~

Another time, a friend of mine who had a stomach disorder his whole life was healed during a church service. He had to use a bag that attached to his stomach to process food and he had removed it before going to church. After the sermon, during altar call, he was praying for God to heal him. After the service he had informed all of us that the hole in his stomach literally closed up at the altar. God had healed him of his stomach disorder. Imagine the faith that was built as he showed people where the hole in his stomach was!

~     ~    ~    ~     ~

A girl I used to go to school with was told she would never have children. God had a different plan. She gave birth to a very handsome little boy. They told her that was a miracle and that there was no way she could have another. She now has three children!

~     ~    ~     ~     ~

Another close friend was also told she would never have children on account of a severe case of endometriosis. She and her husband tried for ten years to have a baby, never giving up hope that God would fulfill His promise to bless them with a baby. They acted on their faith. They built a nursery in their house. They filled the closet with baby clothes (all girl clothes as they asked God for a girl). They refused fertility treatments, believing that it was God’s will for them to wait and trust in Him. God blessed them with their baby girl this past fall. She is a gorgeous baby girl. During the delivery, the doctors said her body was so messed up inside that it was impossible for her to have been pregnant at all. But God isn’t contained by “impossible”.

~     ~    ~     ~     ~

What about you? Are you waiting for God to heal you?

It doesn’t have to be a physical healing. Sometimes God’s healings come through emotional pain, broken marriages, or a child without a home. Sometimes healings come when we try to grapple with why God didn’t physically heal someone else. Sometimes, like in the stories above, healings come in the hospital room when the doctors say “it’s impossible”.

What we do know is that God made these promises in His Word:

“Is any sick among you? let him call for the elders of the church; and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord: And the prayer of faith shall save the sick, and the Lord shall raise him up; and if he have committed sins, they shall be forgiven him. Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.” – James 5:14-16

“And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.” – Revelation 21:4

Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed.” – I Peter 2:24

“But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.” – Isaiah 53:5

“And when he had called unto him his twelve disciples, he gave them power against unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all manner of sickness and all manner of disease…Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers, raise the dead, cast out devils: freely ye have received, freely give.” – Matthew 10:1,8

“Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” – Hebrews 13:5

“Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” – I Peter 5:7

If you are in need of healing today, whether it be physical or emotional, know that God can heal You.

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 1, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
Go Ye Kids

The Gospel. To Kids Everywhere.

Apostolic Voice

A blog that deals with biblical topics and Christian Living

GoYeKids

The Gospel. To Kids Everywhere.

The Girl Consumed by Jesus & Wanderlust

the sweet and simple life of Sam

The Celebration

Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Pastor Don Haymon's Web Log

Messages, Musings, and Misc Communications

JREnsey Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

KennethBow's Blog

Ain't Life a Journey!

Apostolic Acclaim Blog

Earnestly Contending For the Faith Once Delivered

The Ballestero Blog

"That's what I'm talking about!"

